Trio of women earns nod for state vacancy

with No Comments
Governor has until Aug. 16 to decide state House represenative selection

The Maui News

A trio of “accomplished women with deep community roots” — Claire Kamalu Carroll, Linda Clark and Stacy Helm Crivello — was announced Saturday as the Maui County Democratic Party’s selection to send to Gov. David Ige as candidates for the next state House District 13 representative.

Claire Kamalu Carroll – Hana resident


The state House vacancy was created by the recent appointment of Lynn DeCoite to the state Senate.

Ige now has until Aug. 16 to announce who will serve as the next state House representative from the district.

The three were chosen from a pool of five applicants for the House District 13 position. These names were formally transmitted to Ige on Saturday afternoon via an electronic letter.

LINDA CLARK – Kaupo resident


Carroll of Hana is a board member for the Hana Community Association, Project Ho’omana, and Early Childhood Strategies Team 4 and the the Soil and Water Conservation District of East Maui.

Clark of Kaupo is president of the Kaupo Community Association and has served as a volunteer club leader for 4H.

Crivello of Molokai, is a former County of Maui council member who is now part of Mayor Michael Victorino’s administration as a community liaison.

“We are proud to send the names of three accomplished women with deep community roots to Governor Ige for his consideration,” Tyler Dos Santos-Tam, Democratic Party of Hawai’i chairman, said in a Saturday news release. “Each has proven experience as a grassroots leader, which will surely serve the ‘canoe district’ well.”

The selection was held during a Zoom meeting and broadcast live over Facebook on Saturday morning.

STACY HELM CRIVELLO – Molokai resident


All 28 members of the selection body participated and each was entitled to vote for up to three of the prospective candidates, according to the release.

“Today’s selection process was grassroots democracy in action,” Jonathan Starr, chairman of the Democratic Party’s House District 13 Council, said in the release. “All three candidates are a leader in their unique community, and each possesses a background of service and interests that will help them to be an effective advocate for the needs of District 13.”